Monday, November 30, 2009

Briefing on Ares I-X results, Thursday

NASA will host a media teleconference with Bob Ess, Ares I-X mission manager, at 1900 UT (2 p.m. EST), Thursday, December 3. Ess will update reporters on data gathered during the test flight Ares I-X from Kennedy Space Center, October 28.

The test flight lasted approximately six minutes, from launch until splashdown of the booster stage 240 km (150 miles) away.

The Ares I-X was wired with more than 700 sensors gathering data during flight, giving NASA the opportunity to prove hardware, facilities and ground operations of the test vehicle configuration and providing engineers with critical data for the future.

(Reporters who want to participate in the teleconference should contact Lynnette Madison at 281-483-5111 ( by 2230 UT (5:30 p.m. EST), December 2 for dial-in information.

For more information about the Ares I-X rocket, visit:

For more information about the Constellation Program, visit:

No comments: